Miso Ramen, aka Cooking Redemption

note:

All the recipes I used are found on Just One Cookbook. Nami has one of the best cooking websites I’ve ever read; she makes fantastic videos to go with the recipes, too.

Last summer, my husband and I spent a long (unplanned) time in New York City. For two months, like a record with a skip, we tried to leave and were compelled to stay. It was —- something.

There were, however, a few really cool side benefits, one of which was an Honest to God ramen shop a half block from us. Geoff and I became *hooked* on ramen. (For something like an explanation of how ramen can soothe the soul, I recommend “The Ramen Girl,” a sweet movie with Brittany Murphy.) Since we’ve returned home, we have missed the ramen.

So…. This weekend, I made Miso Ramen. I was nervous returning to the kitchen after the egg curry episode. I wasn’t proud of that dish, and I was concerned that I had lost my cooking mojo.

I feel much better now.

miso ramen

miso ramen with chashu, ajitsuke tamago, and pickled ginger

I was careful to follow Nami’s excellent instructions for making ajitsuke tamago, or ramen egg. These are the soft-boiled eggs which are then marinaded and used as a topping on the ramen. I made these the day before and they came out beautifully.

ajitsuke tamago

ajitsuke tamago, or ramen egg

Our local stores don’t carry pork belly, so I used pork loin to make the Chashu. Aside from nearly setting the house on fire when I added the pork to the heated oil in the pan, it too came out succulent and tender. (I supposed I accomplished the “searing” step after all LOL)

Chashu

Chashu

It can be tricky finding ramen noodles to use. You can use the noodles from the instant packets (just toss the flavoring packs). I found some noodles by Kame yesterday and used those. They were very good.

Overall, these recipes were fun and enjoyable – during the cooking and the eating. Now, we can have wonderful ramen at home!

last note:

I received no promotional stuff; all opinions are my own 🙂

Leave a Reply

