a half-step forward, and the best fans in the world

Today, we had two big appointments with the neurologist and the primary internist caring for my husband. We expected to get final word on whether or not my husband has MS in addition to chronic lyme disease.

As in all other things in his life, it turns out that my husband is unique, and while they can clearly state that there is some sort of demyelinating disease, it presents so strangely that they are not absolutely sure it is MS.

That said, everyone agrees that this has gone on long enough, and it is finally time to begin treatment. We’re going to evaluate risks and what we know and don’t know, and go from there. My husband says, “As long as it isn’t sure to kill me, I’m game.”

We hope to begin some kind of treatment within the next week.

In the meantime, we continue to be stunned and humbled by the kindness and generosity of our friends. My husband is able to spend time in NYC seeing doctors because of the generosity of Geoff’s friends from college. During our stay, both Geoff’s friends and mine have been in touch with us, sending us messages and care packages from all over the country. Geoff’s parents have put their entire lives on hold to care for our daughter in our home so she can go to school and be with our dog. And today, a couple of my twitter – pals, whom I have never met, but who are fellow Rush fans, messaged me today to say that they’re coming into town, and would we like a “distractionary cocktail?”

This is one of the scariest times of our lives; it is also one of the most humbling and beautiful. The amount of effort people go to to show their support and kindness is beyond my dreams. I am so grateful.

Hopefully, tomorrow, I will be able to provide some information on how we are going to move forward through the next few weeks. For now, let’s just enjoy the promise of decisions being made and the kindness of friends!

Leave a Reply

